Skip to main content
Mount Pleasant Village, Washington, DC: Celebrating the opportunities and meeting the challenges of aging

The Mount Pleasant Village Board of Directors and Committee Chairs


Board of Directors


Mary Hill Rojas, President

Resident of Mount Pleasant for nearly 20 years. Former school administrator and teacher in Montevideo, Uruguay for 13 years; faculty member at Virginia Tech in international studies for 15 years, and president of her professional association. President, Rojas International, consultants. Officer and board member of All Souls Unitarian Church. She is a Master Naturalist. Former Co-Secretary for the Board.


Laura Breeden, Treasurer

Lived in DC in the 90s for two years while working for the Clinton Administration, then returned in 2009 for another stint at the Department of Commerce.  Lived in Mount Pleasant since 2011. Professional work has focused on the public-sector application of new communication technologies, in areas including education, libraries, state and local governments, and workforce development. Enjoys qi gong classes, attends All Souls Unitarian Church, and tries to garden on her tiny deck. She has also served on the Village’s Diversity Committee.


Bonnie Cain, Vice President and Program Committee Chair

Resident of Mount Pleasant for 35 years.  B.A. M.A. and PhD.  Former D.C. Council education advisor. Former D.C. ANC commissioner and publisher, for 9 years, of local newspaper for Ward One communities.  Involved in civic engagement training for adults newly resident in the District and is currently chair of the Multicultural Community Service. Serves on the Village’s Communications and Diversity Committees and is Committee on Committees Co-Chair.

Eileen Coffey

Resident of Mount Pleasant since 2005. Born and raised in Puerto Rico, came to DC to attend Trinity College, graduating with B.A. in sociology. Earned an M.A. in sociology from the New School for Social Research, in New York, and is ABD in sociology. Taught at Hostos College, City University of New York, and held social planning positions in the executive branch of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Held professional business analytical and management positions, and a currently a consultant in real estate management in her own company, CPR Management Services. Worked with the Village’s Membership and Diversity committees.


William Emmet, Governance Committee Co-Chair

Resident of Mount Pleasant since 2000. Has more than twenty years of experience in mental health policy at the state and national levels. Earned a B.A. in history from Beloit College. Worked in television, journalism, as a writer, and as a teacher. Since 1990, has held a variety of positions addressing health care and mental health reform. Currently, is a principal with Emmet Consulting and a senior advisor with M3 Information. Serves on the Governance Committee.


Rob Fleming

Resident of Mount Pleasant for more than 40 years. B.A. and M.P.A. in Science Policy. Formerly with the U.S. Department of Commerce, providing White House support, planning and program evaluation, and grants administration. Three-term ANC commissioner. Officer and director of community-based organizations. Recovery advocate and substance abuse policy advisor to D.C. Council, two mayors, Councilmembers and Committees, and government agencies. Founding Village Board Member and Vice Chair of Neighbors’ Consejo. Member of Communications and Volunteer Committees.

Robert Hoffman, Secretary

Resident of Mount Pleasant for 40 years.  B.A. and LLD.  Attorney licensed in Washington, DC, and New York.  Retired attorney and administrator for national AARP.  Credentialed volunteer

for DC public schools, serving as reading mentor and chess program director/coach.  Community representative on the Bancroft Elementary School Local School Advisory Committee.  Former Board member D.C. Stoddert Soccer League.


Nancy Mills

Resident of Mount Pleasant for more than ten years. Graduated from Antioch College with a focus on history and the Far East. Joined the labor movement in 1976, and has held a variety of positions with the Service Employees International Union (SEIU), the AFL-CIO, and two labor-sponsored non-profit organizations. In retirement, has put her organizing skills to use as a volunteer for community organizations. Serves on the Membership and Volunteer committees.


Lawrence Rickards, Communications Committee Chair

Resident of Mount Pleasant for 35 years. M.A., Ph.D. in counseling psychology. Ten years’ experience in federal aging policy; 15 years with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Service’s Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration overseeing programs for persons experiencing homelessness and those with co-occurring mental and substance use disorders. Former Chair of the Coalition on Mental Health and Aging.


Rebecca Shannon

Resident of Mount Pleasant for 35 years. B.A. and M.A. Twenty-five years’ experience as a proposal and marketing writer, editor and manager. Contributed to the community as a volunteer by writing articles for local publications, organizing art events, and supporting a range of progressive programs to address social issues. Former Village treasurer; serves on the Communications Committee.


Katie Tyler, Membership Committee Co-Chair

Resident of Mount Pleasant for more than 30 years. B.Sc. (sociology) and M.A. (human resources). Twenty-seven years’ experience in human resources at the World Bank and 15 years’ prior human resources experience in the United Kingdom. Volunteer social worker in London and former officer and director of Historic Mount Pleasant. Founding Board Member of Mount Pleasant Village and its first president. Serves as Membership Committee Chair.


Committee Chairs


Judy Byron, Diversity Committee Chair

Resident of Mount Pleasant for more than 40 years. As an artist and activist, with her works on paper, installations, and artist books, she explores issues of identity and imagines art as a common ground for community.  She was the founder of the Corcoran Museum Art Mentorship Program (CAMP).


Tom Conway, Governance Committee Co-Chair and Committee on Committees Chair

Resident of Mount Pleasant for more than 40 years. B.A. (political science, with minor in economics). Early supporter and active member of Historic Mount Pleasant; founding member of Mount Pleasant Elm Fund (to stabilize the neighborhood tree canopy); founding member of Mount Pleasant Neighborhood Alliance; and member of the Urban Forest Council of D.C.


Elinor Hart, Volunteer Services Committee Chair

Resident of Mount Pleasant for more than 40 years. Officer and director: Mount Pleasant Main Street, Historic Mount Pleasant, Neighbors’ Consejo, and League of Women Voters of the National Capital Area. Works for the Washington Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights and Urban Affairs. Former Member of the Village’s Board of Directors.


Cecile Srodes, Membership Committee Co-Chair

Resident of the District since 1964. LLD. Former council on House Energy and Commerce Committee and former head of Legislative Affairs for the Securities and Exchange Commission. Retired from Washington office of the New York Stock Exchange. Served on Board of Historic Mount Pleasant, and as a volunteer, worked to increase tree planting in the neighborhood and the restoration of the triangle park at the intersection of Park Road, 17th Street, and Mount Pleasant Street.